SIUE Bi-State Band Festival


The SIUE Bi-State Band Festival was held this weekend on the campus of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.  Over 45 high schools and 250 musicians from Illinois and Missouri auditioned to participate in the festival.  GCHS was represented extremely well with 16 band members selected to participate in the Bi-State Bands! 

The guest conductor for the 2019 SIUE Bi-State High School Honor Band was Mr. Darrin Davis, Director of Bands, Broken Arrow School District.  In addition to the Honor Band, two Festival bands were formed and conducted by Chris Gunn, Director of Bands, Taylorville High School and Alyssa Overman, Director of Bands, Alton High School.  Clinics with SIUE applied faculty and performances by SIUE ensembles added to the uniqueness of this weekend. 

The following GCHS Band members were selected to participate in the festival.


  • Maya Chapman - Trumpet
  • Owen Cole - Trumpet
  • Scott DeLozier – Trumpet
  • Alex Eversman - Trombone
  • Asael Gomez – Clarinet
  • Anthony Guzman – Bari Saxophone
  • Jade Heuer - Percussion
  • Mark Holland - Clarinet
  • Emily Johnson - Clarinet
  • John Lucas - Trombone
  • Stephanie Mullen – Flute
  • Caitlyn Strickland - Clarinet
  • Faith Turner – Bassoon
  • Brennan Whittleman – Clarinet
  •  Kaitlyn Woosley – French Horn
  • Cassie Zarate – Bass Clarinet


It is an incredible honor to be selected to perform in this festival and we are very proud of them!

Back to School News      Print News Article